Q & A with Becca Bates

Becca Bates

 

For the record, please state your name.

Becca Bates

 

Do you do book tours/signings?

Not yet.

 

Would you be interested in a book tour? I may know someone who’s reasonably priced…

Yeah, if I had more information.

 

Talk to Tami Adams…this is her blog/business: http://magicofbookspromo.blogspot.ca/

 

You can find her on facebook. With her, you get featured on many blogs/facebook pages and Twitter which all helps you gain readers, etc. She’s the only one I know of that actually double checks to make sure that the bloggers do their part as they’ve signed up for.

Awesome, thank you!

 

You’re welcome! What inspired, motivated, influenced you to become an author?

Well, I’ve always created stories, even from a young age. They weren’t very original back then, but it got me in the process of creating. My older brother and sister also were always into writing as we grew up so that definitely motivated me to write as well. I didn’t really write down too much, though. Until I turned sixteen. I just dabbled a little here and there. At that point, however, I started watching some new shows that inspired ideas so exciting in my mind that I threw myself into writing with a purpose. My stories have changed a lot since then, but that was the real turning point; when I knew I wanted to be an author, someday.

 

Do you have any unique or quirky writing habits?

I don’t think I really do anything that unique. I use NaNoWriMo months throughout the year (the main one in November and the Camps in April and July) to focus on getting the rough drafts done, and the in between months to edit.

 

What’s your biggest accomplishment you’ve achieved with your writing?

I recently released my second book, the first book of my new series, and it made it into the top 100 on all three subcategories on Amazon–and top 50 in one of them!

 

Describe what your ideal writing space looks like.

I usually curl up on the couch with my laptop. Sometimes I play soundtrack music from video games, or I just write in silence.

 

What genres do you enjoy reading? What genres do you write in?

Fantasy predominantly for both. I also like reading horror, specifically Stephen King, but I haven’t really written any myself. But everything I’ve written so far is some form of fantasy, from low to portal to epic. I even have a superhero story in the works.

 

Of all the characters you have created, which is your favorite and why?

Oh, that’s a tough one…I think I’d have to say Nole from my Satyr Wars series. He’s a vampire, but he’s also a coward. He’s very polite yet witty and he’s just so much fun to write.

 

What is the biggest surprise that you experienced after becoming a writer?

Honestly, I think it was the fact that people actually liked what I had written. When I first started, I thought I was never going to be taken seriously, but I’ve gotten a lot of really great feedback for both of my books, so far.

 

Give us an interesting fun fact about your book.

In my Satyr Wars series, there are no existing creatures (no humans, or dogs, etc.). But there are also no creatures that I created myself. Everything in there is from existing myths, such as vampires like I mentioned, nymphs, djinns, and more. That also means that all the pets and wild animals have to be existing fantasy creatures, which can be surprisingly difficult to find, haha.

 

Tell us a little about your plans for the future. Where do you see yourself as a writer in five years? 10 years? 20?

I hope to have the entire Satyr Wars series out within five years or less. I’d also like to publish a good portion of my other series, the Humani Chronicles, by then. I’d probably put out some short stories throughout there as well since I have an anthology planned. My plans for 10 and 20 years are less specific, but I’d really like to be able to support myself with my writing within 10 years.

 

What do you love most about the writing process?

Creating a new story. The rush that comes with discovering new ideas and creating new characters and plot twist is so exciting to me!

 

Any advice for other authors? Anything you’d like to tell your readers? This is where you have the floor…give links to your work/you!

I’d say, don’t get discouraged by early attempts. You’ll learn and grow the more you write. Also, don’t get too bogged down by planning everything before you start–it helps to have a general outline, but it’s just as important to get the first draft down. Things become clearer or change as you go that you don’t expect, so if you wait until you know every minute detail before starting, you may never actually get around to writing it.

To my readers, thank you for your support, and I hope you keep reading.

My website is beccabates.weebly.com. My newsletter sign up, which includes a free ebook, is beccabooks.weebly.com. My books are on Amazon, A World of My Own – http://amzn.com/B015VSFXM0, and Satyr Wars: Volume IV – A Naiad Hope – http://amzn.com/B01CPFOGYS

Also, I have a Goodreads author page, https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14550304.Becca_Bates

 

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to interview with me!

And thank you for interviewing me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

