Q & A with K. M. Vanderbilt

Kayla Vanderbilt

 

For the record, state your name,  a short Bio, and how you became the writer you are today.

I write under the pen name K. M. Vanderbilt

Short bio: The author known as Vanderbilt is an avid smoker and a lover of words. She lives with her hetero-life-mate, single offspring, and a derpy canine in the mountains of Colorado. Sometime in the next 50 years, she dreams of relocating to Neptune. In the meantime, she writes.

I came to be the writer I am through years of failed manuscripts, entirely too much coffee intake, and a lot of practice.

 

What inspires, motivates, influences you to write?

I’m inspired by everything around me, in all honesty. Could just be an article, or maybe a bit of mythology I’ve never read, but there’s so much even in just walking out the front door that has potential plot fodder. Motivation is more of a personal thing. If my books touch even one person, I’ve achieved my goal; that keeps me writing. Influences are more far-flung and obscure, but I started out by emulating authors I’d already read. Three of those are Melanie Rawn, David Farland, and Kate Elliott. Excellent world builders and story tellers. I doubt I’ll ever be on the level with them, but they did for me what I hope to do for others–sparked a wonder and a love of reading that helped me branch into writing.

 

How long have you’ve been writing?

Since I was six, the moment I could halfway spell. It’s been about 23 years now. Man…I might be getting old!

 

Tell me one thing you’ve always thought you’d do when you got older? Do you regret anything?

One thing I always thought I’d do was publish. I finally did, and I don’t regret a minute of it. There may be a few bad choices I made along the way, but changing even one thing…? It’s hard to regret a path that led me to follow my dreams.

 

When you write, do you have background noise?

I generally write with music on–pre-made playlists that capture a mood or general vibe of the book as a whole, or some that are more focused if the scene calls for something different. That may or may not be competing with Paw Patrol on in the background due to having a toddler.

 

What’s your ideal vacation like?

Vacation? What is this mythical thing you speak of?

I actually haven’t been on a real vacation in years, but I like warmth–both temperature and emotion. I like visiting family anywhere the weather is nice. It creates a relaxing atmosphere, which is a nice change from the howling wind and unpredictable snows of Colorado.

 

What’s your ideal partner in crime?

Oh, this is a good question. The bad influence tag is usually attached to MY ear, so I need a voice of reason that’s still okay with being a little goofy from time to time.

 

What is your style like? What genre do you write in?

My style is…dark. I generally write in fantasy and science fiction genres, but that spans across the spectrum.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? 10 years? 20?

5 years, I’d like to be near wrapping up The Breadth Key Cycle. 10 years, I’d like to start doing cons and branching out in my publishing venture. The imprint would be a lovely small press. 20 years, I hope to be an established name and still going strong in my writing career.

 

What’s your writing space like?

A mess. There is no other way to describe it. It is a clutter filled mess of organized chaos. I have a small area in the living room with a makeshift desk comprised of a coffee table stacked on top of DuraBILT tubs.

 

Out of all your characters you have written who is your absolute favorite one and why?

That’s really hard and it feels like sacrilege to pick just one. If I HAD to pick…probably Loki. There’s something that draws me to his story like a moth to the flame. Between betrayal and madness, he is probably one of my favorite creations.

 

Last question, what advice would you give your fellow authors? What would you like to say to your readers? This is where  you have the floor…tell us what no one knows of you and give links to you/your work.

I would say…don’t give up. It took me 8 years to get my first book from a concept to print. Every minute of it might be a struggle, but if you have a story to tell…get it out there. The reward of seeing your work in the hands of your readers is better than any feeling in the world; it is the pinnacle.

To my readers: Thank you. A million times, thank you. I couldn’t do this without you; YOU are what makes it worthwhile.

My work can be found at getBook.at/SkeinsUnfurled

 

Thanks for taking the time to do this interview with me today!

Thanks again for the opportunity. was a lot of fun.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

