Q & A with A. Nation

Nathalie Andrews

 

Please provide author name & short bio, book title & blurb, a short excerpt and all relevant links.

Books:

Similar But Not the Same, Deflection A Race Against Time, CrossRoads A Moment of Decision, Found The Lost Ones, (new) Return There’s No Easy Way, and Where Did They Go?

Bio:

I am now semi-retired but still do embroidery for my loyal customers. I have always thought about writing but never knew where to start until my husband and I started traveling between Idaho and Arizona. There I saw an inviting sign in the library where the writing group meets.

I enjoy writing about science fiction, because I am interested in future science, and I can

write about no one I know and still have fun with the characters.

What motivates me? A story I may read in the newspaper, political idiocy, a situation that happened in history, or just anything that I can twist the perspective around to present a parable style that mimics today’s issues. I don’t write torrid romance, but I do bring you to the edge of several. My stories are based on my knowledge of how people interact, and on the movies and books, I have read until I go into the bizarre. The political state of our country concerns me. I read a lot and that helps me write better.

In November 2015, I decided to participate in National Writing Month some call Nanowrimo or just Nano. The goal is to write 50,000 words in thirty days. I wrote “Where Did They Go?” in eleven days. I continued on to add to my Nano book another 9,000 words to polish the story.

Blurb for “Where Did They Go?”

“Susan was devastated when her husband dies in a car accident. Friends and family cannot fill the void left in her heart from his passing. One thing after another keeps disappearing around her home until she steps into another world. The characters she encounters help her with lost memories until she realizes who killed her husband.”

 

Your favorite character in the book and why?

In my Domino series, I like my women characters, not because I am one, but because

they are independent whether it is attaining a goal or protecting the family. In my Where did they go (a nano book), I like the heroine because we all may be in her place when a husband dies.

 

Please describe him/her/they a) physically b) their personality?

Alice is thin, short blond hair, about 5’7″ and wants to work her way to Mars and

beyond. She used to know all the names of the constellations when she was young. She wants a man that would stand by her no matter what decisions she makes but not restrict her when she makes a choice. Susan, on the other hand, is middle-aged and plump. She was useless after her husband died but through the efforts of her friends, she makes a decision.

 

Could I have a couple of quotes from your book of dialogue that shows that personality?

Similar But Not the Same:

Mike immediately stood up and entered the hall. Looking around briefly, he could see only five investigators from his group. Alice was missing!

“Where did Alice go?” he questioned looking around at blank staring faces.

“Maybe she went to the restroom,” replied James Penrod.

“She walked past me and turned down the hallway,” Benza offered.

“Damn it! That woman left to find Wentworth!” Mike exclaimed and started running back through the hall with the others scrambling after him.

Alice, running, as much as one can run on Mars with a slight trot, navigated through the

hallways right then left. Her leg, still wrapped within the brace was beginning to ache.

Entering an elevator, she was transported down to the tunnel portal. Grabbing a portable oxygen tube from a nearby table, she flashed her ID badge and then ran through the sliding open doors that closed behind her.

Where Did They Go?:

I was going to make a note of that when I discovered my pen had turned up missing.

“What the–?” I said aloud searching under the various papers lying on the table. I looked at Mickie who cocked his head, “You didn’t eat my pen did you?” I joked but was still frustrated about it being missing.

“Why does everything disappear in this house?” I moaned. “Rats, I’ll just get another one.”

Henry and I used to joke about the former owner of the land we built our house on was a ghost who snitched things. I checked the other chair I used to sit in to make sure my pen hadn’t rolled onto it, but no luck.

I went back to the junk drawer and pulled out another pen and returned to my task at the table. “Now what was I going to write down?” I couldn’t remember.-

 

What genre would you say the book falls into?

My Domino series is futuristic science fiction murder/mystery adventure/saga with a moral outcome. My Nano book is an Urban Fantasy that is in current time.

 

Are there any trigger warnings and/or explicit content I should know about?

I keep that to a minimum. One of my examples is written above. I might have two of

those per book. Another is a construction worker who uses the word, shit. I keep the love scenes to one or two lines and let the reader guess the rest. The story is the important focus in my books.

 

Do you have any upcoming events?

Not at this time but I may have this summer.

 

What is next for you? Anything in the works?

I just finished writing the fifth saga of my Domino series called, Return There’s

No Easy Way. It’s about the humans returning with the aliens and the villain trying to cause trouble. I plan to start the sixth saga in June and be ready to do the sequel of my nano book in November 2016.

 

Any special mentions? (Editor, cover art etc…)

I am self-published for now with Kindle, Createspace, Draft2Digital, and

Smashwords. I have 3-4 readers that help me and I use Grammarly to finish it out. I had the T-Shirt Shoppe from Idaho use an art program called Coreldraw to do my covers because CS and Kindle have little to offer in my story line. I used pictures I have taken on trips for my third saga called CrossRoads A Moment of Decision.

 

If you could go anywhere in the world where would it be? Please describe the place rather than just a name. The weather, the time of day, the ground, the surroundings, foliage, etc…

I would go where it is warm and not overpopulated. I try to stay away from the

snowy parts of the country. I loved Hawaii because it was the same range of temperature whenever one goes there. The humidity is high but makes your skin feel smooth. The air is warm and smells of flower blossoms that fill the air along with the fried fish and shrimp. The ocean water sparkles on each wave when it laps the shoreline. Christmas in Hawaii was magical as we walked by the old buildings framed by tall palm trees fluttering in the breeze.

 

If the character from above were in that place what would they be doing?

Both of them, Alice and Susan would be either relaxing by the shore sipping a cool

strawberry drink while they read their books or drive their rented car up to the edge of the active volcano.

 

If your character was allowed one chance to say anything to your readers, what would he/she say?

Know who your true friends are and what goes around comes around.

If your character could donate to any charity, which one would he/she choose?

NASA for Kids and the Humane Society

See more on my blog at bloggingwrites.weebly.com

Thank you for this opportunity – A. Nation

 

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to do this interview with us today!

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

