Q & A with Joseph McGarry

Joseph McGarry

 

For the record, state your name,  a short Bio, and how you became the writer you are today.

For the record. It sounds like I’m on a TV cop show. I’m Joseph McGarry. I live in Isanti, MN, just an hour north of Minneapolis. I graduated from Notre Dame in 1986 (GO IRISH!) with a degree in accounting. I am a CPA who does taxes. I wrote the first draft of this book in November 2014, as part of NaNoWriMo. I polished it up the next year and published it at the end of the year. I’ve always been fascinated with mermaids, so this book was a natural.

 

What inspires, motivates, influences you to write?

In this case, mermaids. I had this story I wanted  to get out. I just decided one day to write it down. I pick up ideas from other novels, but also from TV, movies, and social media. The motivation is to get the story out. Sometimes if I get blocked, I just write something about something else. It can jar some things loose, or it may get incorporated  into the story.

 

How long have you’ve been writing?

For my own pleasure, many years. I don’t count school assignments since that was mandatory. This novel is the first thing I’ve written for publication.

 

Tell me one thing you’ve always thought you’d do when you got older? Do you regret anything?

I thought I would be an athlete, either baseball or football, but physically it didn’t work out that way. I thought I’d have a lot more money than I do now. I regret not being better prepared for this stage in life.

 

When you write, do you have background noise?

I usually turn on the radio or iHeart Radio. I listen to their 80s station. It actually helps me focus.

 

What’s your ideal vacation like?

One of two things. First, relax on the beach. Second,  Disney World!

 

What’s your ideal partner in crime?

Someone who understands me and is willing to put up with me.

 

Where do you see yourselves in 5 years? 10 years? 20?

I would hope alive. I’ve had some health scares recently, so that’s not always a given. I’d like to think that I can be a successful writer, with a series of books out. I would also like to have some of them adapted for movies or TV.

 

What is your style like? What genre do you write in?

I usually write science fiction. No one can say you’re wrong about it. My first novel, Operation Mermaid: The Project Kraken Incident, was written in the style of a government report. The story is told primarily through dialogue.

 

What’s your writing space like?

I have a small table with my laptop and a mouse. That and wifi are all I really need.

 

Out of all your characters, you have written who is your absolute favorite one and why?

It’s hard to pick a favorite, especially since I created them all. It can be like asking a mother or father which is their favorite child. I would say, Dina. I had her go through a lot of changes. I think she came out somewhat better than she started.

 

Last question, what advice would you give your fellow authors? What would you like to say to your readers? This is where  you have the floor…tell us what no one knows of you and give links to you/your work.

Write what you want to write. Some people try to follow market trends and write for that. Most readers can see through that. Be yourself, or your characters. Listen to your characters, and let them help guide you through the story.

Don’t worry about your first draft.

It’s not going to be perfect. Editing is the hard part, but it will help you tell a better story. Don’t snap at people who give you feedback. You’re not perfect.

Book link: http://www.amazon.com/Operation-Mermaid-Project-Kraken-Incident/dp/1483443825/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1461616247&sr=1-1

Thanks for doing this.

 

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to do this interview with me today!

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

