Q & A with Jude Ouvrard

Jude Ouvrard

 

 

What made you want to become a writer?

Young, I always had stories going on in my head. I had characters growing to be young adults. First love, the importance of friendship, etc… Eventually, I started writing every night before bed and I kept thinking about it and couldn’t wait to write again. I didn’t read much at the time. Reading came later but now, I can’t live without them.

 

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing as a hobby for a very long time (20 years?) but I became a published author three years ago. When I was a kid, I used to write in French which is my first language. I started writing in English 6 years ago.

 

What’s your writing style like?

I write romance. I love writing love stories with a little bit of drama and some inked men. I normally write first person but I often have different point of views. Present and past tenses.

 

What genre do you write?

So far, I did a gay romance, military romance, new adult, and contemporary. My novella, Wonderland (guy romance) also includes poetry. I like to give myself a challenge. Sometimes, I have to do a lot of research. I contacted veterans for the military romance. It was a lot of fun but time-consuming.

 

What inspired you to write ‘Not Afraid To Love You’ and what was the motivation?

I had a possibility to be in a box set, To Protect and Love and I really wanted to make it happen. The main subject was about men in uniform. I had my military story but I wanted to work with something new. Not Afraid to Love You is about domestic violence and slowly, a story started building from there. I added a police officer and the rest came naturally. Β No spoilers. πŸ™‚

 

While writing the book did you have anything playing in the background, if so what?

Jeff Buckley, always. I’m a huge fan of Jeff Buckley. He kind of inspired me with the title of the book too. In the song called “So Real”, he said I love you but I’m afraid to love you. It was exactly how I felt about this whole book. Love is scary. It involves so many different things. Unfortunately, Jeff passed away in 1996. He had so much potential and so much to offer. His death is terribly sad. A legend, that’s for sure.

 

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything about the book?

I had a review mentioning that the second part of the book came too quickly, too rushed. I now wish I could make it longer, more detailed. Maybe later. I could always write a second edition later but right now, I’m way too busy.

 

Is there anything you found particularly challenging?

Yes, I wanted to make the book believable in every way. In Not afraid to love you there are domestic violence, P.T.S.D., and a learning curve on how to live life after a dramatic past. I tried to create a strong bond between the characters because I believe they all played a role in Lilly’s life and her second chance to happiness. I hope I did good, I have my fingers crossed.

 

Who designed your cover?

Kari March Design and JC Clarke

 

What books/authors have influenced your writing?

Nicholas Sparks, Jamie McGuire, Colleen Hoover, EL James, Helena Hunting. Many authors inspire me. They all have their own style and each of them brings something different. I have so many authors I look up too. I love when I open a book, read the first lines and think, Damn, that author can write. I think it pushed me to try harder.

 

What is your take on fanfiction?

It’s where it all started for me. I mean, it’s the first time I let someone read my words. I had A LOT to learn. The feedback I got from there made me who I am now. I’m far from perfect now and I’m still learning every day but FF gave me a lot. Writing in English was a lot harder than I thought it would be. Think about EL James, Helena Hunting, Debra Anastasia? Amazing and yes, I wish it could have been me but it isn’t so I keep working and learning. Maybe one day…

 

What advice would you give any newbie author or anyone that wants to pick up writing?

Don’t give up. It’s so easy to give up but so hard to make it in the author’s world. There are so many authors now. It’s a huge market but if you truly want to make it, never give up, don’t look back, keep your head up and GO. Read a lot, write a lot. Make friends, build a team of people you trust, work with them and take all the advice you can have.

 

Tell us a little about yourself? Perhaps something not many people know? Can you share with us the best way to reach you and where to find your books?

I’m a mom and I’m also working full time in a law firm. Sometimes, I wonder how I find time to write but then I remember that I barely sleep lol I’m a night owl and probably have ADD. I love chocolate and anything sweet but I’m trying really hard at the moment to cut down on sweet pleasures. A little secret, I’m trying to write a romantic comedy right now. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to keep the same level of funny in all chapters but I’m giving it a try.

All my books are on Amazon and some of them are on Kobo, Apple, B&N, etc… I’m trying to have more exposures. The easiest way to reach me is on Facebook. I check my FB numerous times in a day. I think I’m addicted to it. Probably, yes.

 

Amazon: Jude Ouvrard Amazon

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/search?Query=Jude%20Ouvrard%20&ac=1&acp=jude%20ou

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JudithOuvrard?fref=ts

 

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to interview with us today!

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

