Q & A with MB Feeney

Mich Feeney

 

 

Tell us a little bit about you, your writing, personal experience, anything for us to get to know you as an author a lot more.

I’ve always written, ever since I was a child. Little short stories for myself and my friends. I always had willing readers in school friends who said they loved my stories (but they’re supposed to say that, right?), but one day, I just stopped. I didn’t write properly for about fifteen years, not properly. Then I found fanfiction. If it wasn’t for Twilight and fanfic, I wouldn’t be writing and I certainly wouldn’t be published now.

I’m an avid people watcher and I’m nosy as hell. You can guarantee that if I hear a juicy argument or people gossiping, it’ll appear in one of my books in some way. I just can’t help it.

I always set my books in the UK with British characters. It’s just part of who I am and what I write.

 

What influences, inspires, or motivates you to write?

I get inspiration from everywhere but in particular music and photographs. I can hear a song or look at a picture and imagine what’s happening and what the characters look like. It takes a while for me to flesh out those characters, but I manage it.

Motivation is a daily struggle, and time management is a big issue that I have. I’m easily distracted, particularly by social media…

 

What are your books based on?

Some are based on personal experience in some way, some are completely made up, and some are based on things I wish I could do (It Started in Texas in particular for that last one). I try to write a different story with each book I release. There’s nothing worse than plotlines and characters being recycled over and over.

 

Some authors have said that they have background noise while writing, do you and if so what’s your background noise?

Absolutely. I’m a naturally loud person in that I have a loud voice, laugh etc. I don’t deal with silence very well. Add that to having two children and a dog, there’s no such thing as silence in my house. I tend to have my iTunes on shuffle when I write so I have a good range of artists and genres ranging from Thirty Seconds to Mars to One Direction (with a lot in between)

 

Do you do book tours/signings?

I have done two author events so far, and I have three planned for next year, all in the UK. You can find more details over on my blog’s events page.

 

If you could write about anyone fiction/nonfiction who would you write about?

Other than the characters I make up? Uhm… I honestly don’t think there’s anyone in particular as my characters are a mixture of made up and loosely based on real people, just with my own twist.

 

Do you recall how your interest in writing began?

As I said, I’ve always written. I’ve also always been a big reader and still am. I can’t pinpoint the exact moment I wanted it to be a job, but it’s always been there at the back of my mind as something I wanted to do.

 

Do you currently have any projects? Future projects?

I always have things on the go – I have about 16 half started stories that I really should sit and methodically work through. At the moment, I am concentrating on a piece around 10-15,000 for a charity anthology. It’s a big genre change for me, so I’m a bit nervous about it. I’ll have more details about it nearer the time of release.

 

What’s your biggest accomplishment?

Actually finishing that first book. I’m brilliant at starting stories, but as I near the end I seem to stall. I don’t know if it’s because I’m upset at saying goodbye to characters, or I’m nervous about finishing the story to start the hard part of editing, but it happens every single time!

 

What would you like to say to your readers?

Thank you for taking a chance on me. I may not be the best selling author or a big name, but I appreciate every single person who has taken that chance on my words. It’s hard to put that gratitude into words, but I feel it ever single day!

 

Any advice for your fellow authors?

First and foremost, write for yourself. If you enjoy the story, others will. Also, don’t rush. Take your time with your first draft, but remember it doesn’t need to be perfect. That comes with time and many rounds of editing.

Editing – do NOT bypass it. The readers WILL notice and readers can be harsh if they feel they’re being taken advantage of, and as a reader myself, I don’t blame them.

 

Author of:

Right Click, Love

Just Like in the Movies

Honour

The One That Got Away

Dear Diary

Reluctance

It Started in Texas

Blog: https://mbfeeney.wordpress.com

 

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to do this interview with me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

