Q & A with R. Colora

Author R. Colora

 

For the record, state your name,  a short Bio, and how you became the writer you are today.

 

R.Colora is my pen name, it’s my first initial (Rosie) and my mother’s nickname; growing up, it means red.


I was born in New York and moved to Pompano Beach Florida when I was 10 when I was 18 I moved to Bradenton, Florida where I have been ever since. I am your average carpool mom plus tattoos and lavender hair. I’ve been married for 15 years and have 3 daughters; ages 14, 9 and 5.

I always loved books! They were my escape from an abusive home life growing up. I’ve always felt like once I started reading, the outside world faded away. While I was reading, I wasn’t an orphan, abused, or poor. I was wrapped in the characters I was reading about. I think I try to write stories that have that same power, to bring a reader into a world I created. Even if it’s just for a few hours, they are surrounded by billionaire Heroes and strong heroines.

 

What inspires, motivates, influences your writing?

 

Each of the characters I wrote about are based on something that comes from my personal life. Book 2 is almost an outline of my real life. I found a lot of peace, being able to tell my truth while putting a fictional spin on it.

 

That’s what I love about books. You can drift off into that dream world and let real life disappear for a while.

 

Exactly, books should be an escape!

 

I think real life influences my writing. No, my husband isn’t a billionaire or even an alpha male type (I’m actually the alpha in my house) but he is everything my characters are; loyal and an amazing husband and father. I think in everyone’s real life they have someone they can draw inspiration from.

 

Out of all your characters you’ve created,  who is you absolutely favorite one and why?

 

Estelle from book 2, she overcomes the most of all my characters. My heroines are survivors. I think there is a whole flux of books where the female characters are kind of walked all over. I like to write women who love their men and want their men but don’t need their men. I learned early in life there is a difference between need and want.

 

Some authors have background noise (i.e music, tv, etc), what’s yours?

 

Usually, Pandora. I’m listening to 1 of three stations; Broadway hits, Today’s country, and a station I created with Josh Groban and Michael Buble. While I write, I also snack. With book 1, it was starburst. Book 2, Twizzlers. Book 3 was fun-dip. I have a drawer full of blow pops and Mike and Ike’s while I’m working on book 4.

I never eat the pink starburst, though, because they are super gross.

 

Do you do book signings/tours?

 

I don’t do physical tours or book signing, but I have been told that my giveaways during blog takeovers are AWESOME. It’s usually a box with a signed book, a t-shirt, magnets, and bookmarks, a tasty treat, and funny acrylic tumblers to drink out of. Oh and a key chain! I have sent boxes of goodies to the UK, almost every state, and New Zealand.

 

Where do you see yourself 5 years from now? 10? 20?

 

Still writing for fun. I’m not trying to be the next big anything lol. If one person a year reads my book I’m happy, because that 1 person took the time to read something I wrote. I think people focus on selling and sometimes forget the magic of the actual words written. Look at me! I’m a throwaway kid, no one wanted, most my life people told me I was stupid and worthless, but people all over the world have read my words! Someone in the UK is reading what I wrote right now!!! In a giant world, my words are reaching someone, somewhere

 

What would advice could you give your fellow authors? What would you like to tell your readers? This is where you have the floor….give links to your work as well.

 

If I could give fellow authors one bit of advice it would be: Don’t compare your success with anyone else’s. Don’t let negative reviews get to you, and most importantly don’t allow anyone to dishearten you! When people tell you that you can’t write or your writing is horrible, keep writing, someone out there will like it!

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=R.colora

 

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to do this interview with me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

