Q & A with R.R. Virdi

Ronnie Virdi

 

For the record, please state your name?

R.R. Virdi

 

Tell us a little about yourself? Perhaps something not many people know?

I’m a huge nature documentary buff. I love watching animal planet and things of that sort early in the morning when I’m still groggy and cursing daylight.

 

What made you want to become a writer? What inspired you? You’re biggest motivator?

Believe it or not, I still don’t know. I started when I was 18 mad at a particular author who will remain unnamed for something they did in their novels. I, along with my best friend felt like we could do it better. The summer after graduating high school, we wrote the worst novel ever. It was a wonderful experience. After doing it, everything made sense in my life. Writing clicked. I’ve given up everything for it, jobs, schooling, all to pursue writing. Don’t regret it! It’s what I was born to do. My biggest inspiration though would be Jim Butcher without a doubt. I grew up on The Dresden Files.

 

What is your writing style like?

I write without an outline and aim for 2,000 words a day.

I know the story in my head, all the important plot points and lines. But the in-between stuff, I make it up as I go along. It’s worked beyond well so far in my writing career haha. No reason to change now. Stephen King. Neil Gaiman. Jim Butcher. George RR Martin. Those folks all do it that way too. Works for me.

 

Do you prefer to type your work up or write it out by hand?

Type. There is no substitute for me. Besides, it’s the best for my readers. If I hand wrote it…I wouldn’t be able to read it. Who knows what my novels would end up saying then. They wouldn’t make sense. smile emoticon

 

Some writers have background noise, do you and if so what is it?

I listen to epic music (music without lyrics, things you’d hear from movies and games, orchestral, bombastic, episodic and evocative) there are soundtracks all over youtube for it. they are wonderful! that…or ill listen to binaural beats. I can’t do rain, though, that makes me sleepy.

 

What do you love most about the writing process?

The surprises. The seeing my story reveal itself to me. Since I don’t know all of it when I write, I love seeing the twists and turns as a reader. Then I love fawning over the fact…that I just made that. It’s wonderful…until editing comes and I sob like a child.

 

Of all the characters you have created, which is your favorite and why?

Vincent Graves. Why? Because anybody can be him, he can be anybody. He doesn’t have a set body or appearance. It’s like the superhero with a mask, phenomenon. Anyone can be him. Just close your eyes. You can be the hero. I love doing that for people…plus, he’s a colossal smart ass. Who doesn’t love those?

 

Tell us a little about your plans for the future. Where do you see yourself as a writer in five years? 10? 20?

Oh God. Five years? Hopefully living as a full-time writer, making my name more solid and known by the day. Ten years? Hopefully fully established as a career author doing book tours, launches, signings and hopefully other literary endeavors such as comic books and who knows. Maybe a tv deal or two? Twenty? With the progress, I’m making already two years into my career…I hope by twenty I can do whatever I want, take whatever risks without fear in the literary world and my personal life. Write freely and essentially…walk into Barnes and Nobles and have filled an entire bookshelf myself. smile emoticon

 

What genre do you write in?

At the moment, I predominantly writing in the Urban Fantasy genre and am fortunate enough to be doing very well and winning an award here and there. So, I’m doing something right. I do plan to get back into fantasy and science fiction as my career grows.

 

Do you do book tours?

Only a few online ones. I’m still growing as an author and trying to build my fanbase and name. I’m not at the point right now where I can command a paperback in person live book tour.

 

Do you have any unique or quirky writing habits?

Now that I think about it, not really? I honestly thought I would…should? But I don’t.

It’s a cold process for me, I enjoy it, but, everyone piss off, leave me alone, and I work.

 

Describe what your ideal writing space looks like.

Comfy chair, big fast computer with multiple monitors, headphones. What I have now haha!

 

What’s your biggest accomplishment as a writer?

Either winning a best book of 2015 award or meeting Jim Butcher and having him request a signed copy of my novel, Grave Beginnings

 

What are your current projects?

I’m working on book one of a new series set in the same world as my current one, as well as starting the third novel in The Grave Report series.

 

Give us an interesting fun fact about your book.

Both books in the series are loaded with fun easter eggs that hint at the story setting for the next novel as well as veiled references to geek culture

 

This is where you have the floor, so to speak. Tell the fans about you, any projects that are coming up, and where we can find you/your work:

Blog: www.rrvirdi.com

Facebook Author’s Page: https://www.facebook.com/rrvirdi/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7769192.R_R_Virdi

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/RRvirdi

Twitter. @rrvirdi

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/R.R-Virdi/e/B00J9PZ1YW/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to interview with us!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

