Q & A with Tasha Reese

tasha reese

 

For the record, please state your name.

My name is Tasha Reese.

 

Do you do book tours?

I do book signings, though, they stay around the center of Oklahoma. Edmond, OKC, Norman.

 

What genre do you consider your books? Have you considered writing in another genre?

I write fiction. However, I consider my work to be many things: action, adventure, romance, mystery. They are a blending of historical and myths, legends, and the gods with my own added fiction. I love the challenge of writing and enjoy trying new things. At this moment, I have one book out, though I have three others that are already at the editing stage.

 

What do your friends and family think of your writing?

In all honesty, everyone that has read my writing has said that they love it. Geni Hunt said that it is detailed and brings her into the scene. For me, that is something that I want to be able to do. I want my readers to be able to basically be there. I am so glad that there are those that enjoy my work as much as I enjoy it. After all, if I can’t write a book that I enjoy, how can I write one that others will?

 

Tell us a little about your plans for the future. Where do you see yourself as a writer in five years? 10 years? 20?

I see myself in five years as having at least four more books out. I do not see myself rich from my work in any amount of years. But, I see the enjoyment it gives me and other people.

In ten years, I would love to make a national book list. It would be wonderful and it would allow more people to see the beauty of myths, legends, and the gods of old, as I see it.

In twenty years, I see many successes and failures with all of my works. In the end, though, I just see myself enjoying it as much as I do right now.

 

What gives you inspiration for your book(s)?

The inspiration I get is from the characters in my head. To me, I am writing their stories as they tell them to me. It is why everything feels so real to me. And I never know what is going to happen next, which can cause a problem when someone wants a synopsis. Haha, but that is honestly part of the fun. I am an avid reader and so I love being able to write and not know what is going on.

 

Are your characters based off real people or did they all come entirely from your imagination?

My characters are based on gods. Some people believe they are real, others do not. So I suppose it would depend on what you believe. I firmly believe in them and so write them to the best of my ability while taking creative license. I pray that they do not mind.

 

Could you tell us a bit about your most recent book and why it is a must-read?

The book out is called “Birth of the Shadewalker”. It is my very first time publishing so it has made me a tiny bit nervous but I love it and I know that that love comes through in the work. As to why it is a must read? Well, it is about the life of a goddess and her own struggles. Let’s not forget that the goddess chooses to live as a mortal with her powers bound and no memory of her life before her mortal family. It is set in a very old world, older than Ancient Rome and Egypt. The Heroine is a strong female lead that is a good role model. She has to find her little sister after her family is killed. Reading it, you will find yourself going through the emotions with her.

 

What do you love most about the writing process?

I love how the characters come to life. They evolve so much and you really find yourself rooting for some while being so mad at the others. Getting to know them is just like getting to know a completely different person.

 

Of all the characters you have created, which is your favorite and why?

My favorite of all is honestly the god that is called Death. He is an honorable man, loves his wife and family and tries hard to protect his little sister. He does have the darker side which is why his sister calls him Death. But, while he is so powerful he knows he cannot always protect everyone and seeks to teach those that he cares about to fight and protect themselves. The readers will learn more about him in some of the books I am working on now. The newest one will be out by Christmas I believe.

 

What is the biggest surprise that you experienced after becoming a writer?

The biggest surprise? How much work and it takes to be a writer. It isn’t all about writing. You have to write query letters and find agents and editors and publishing houses. It can be daunting. I myself am still looking for an agent that meshes with me. And on top of that you have to decide, do you want to self-publish, go to a vanity press, or try traditional publishing. Each one has pros and cons but they can all teach you something.

 

What’s something you are really good at that few people know about?

Honestly, I am really good at cooking. I enjoy it a lot. I love learning different recipes and will even learn from other cultures. I do not get to cook all that often anymore but have loyal people that are always willing to act as guinea pigs when it comes to testing it.

 

Give us an interesting fun fact about your book.

That would have to be a peak at the world after life. How people see it can be so different. But what if it’s a river that everyone is carried in, and while in that river, you see different things: heaven, hell, Elysium, the Summerlands? Which one do you think you would see?

 

Any advice for other authors?

Do not ever give up your writing, and do not throw anything out. While you may think it is rubbish, it could hold the key to some future work of yours. Love your work because it is your baby and no one can ever write like you do.

 

Anything you’d like to say to your readers?

Thank you so much for your support. I am so glad to be able to write something that you enjoy and so proud to have you as a reader. You are the best! And I look forward to hearing from any of you that want to talk to me, even if you want to say it is malarkey.

 

Can you share with us the best way to reach you and where to find your books?

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/TashaReeseBirthoftheShadewalker/

Website: http://shadewalker-reese.wix.com/author-site

Author Email: Shadewalker-Reese@outlook.com

https://www.tatepublishing.com/bookstore/book.php?w=9781630632953

Thank you, so much for your time! And please send me the link to your interviews and such when they are up. I’d love to support you as you support us.

 

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to do this interview with me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

