Q & A with Samantha A. Cole

Samantha A. Cole

 

Tell me a little bit about you, your writing, personal experience, anything for the public to get to know you as an author a lot more. I also need a photo for when I post the interview.

I’m a retired police officer and paramedic. My retirement came early due to an on-duty car accident which resulted in me needing several knee surgeries and one neck surgery over the past 10 years. I’ve always been an avid reader and my grandmother gave me my first Harlequin novels when I was a teen. My mom wasn’t happy about but, hey, Grandma knows best! During my recovery from each surgery, I was playing around on the computer a lot and decided to try writing a few stories that had been in my head for awhile. My first few attempts weren’t the greatest and I actually stopped writing for 3 years. Then the Trident Security boys started invading my thoughts and I decided to take one more stab at writing. With the help of a few beta readers and indie authors, my series is now published.

 

What inspired, motivated,  influenced your work?

I write what I like to read which is suspense/romance. I need killers, kidnappers, drug dealers, etc in my books most of the time, although my 2 novellas are criminal free. I use a lot of my training and experience in law enforcement to spin a web of intrigue.

 

Do you have any current projects going and if so could you share a little bit with the public?

Absolutely! For the past year, I’ve never not had a work in progress lol. I am currently working on Book 6 of the Trident Security Series which is titled Tickle His Fancy. It is Brody Evans’ story, the last of my Sexy Six-Pack and, ironically, he was the first of them to develop in my mind. But it took a while to figure out what his story was. Here’s the unedited prologue from the book –

“Oh my darling,
Oh my darling,
Oh my darling,
Clementine.
You are lost and gone forever,
Dreadful sorry, Clementine.”

 

The song being sung over and over again helped Christie emerge from a deep sleep. As the fog slowly cleared from her mind, it occurred to her she had no idea where she was…and who was singing.

 

Realizing it wasn’t a dream, she opened her eyes, but couldn’t see a thing. A blindfold was only allowing a small sliver of light to show through. She struggled to sit up, but her limbs wouldn’t move—they were restrained to the point where she was spread eagle on a mattress. Her first thought was she must be in a private room at the club, Heat, and coming out of subspace. But the stench of urine and lack of thumping club music told a different story.

Panic was starting to set in and she thrashed against the restraints. A ball gag in her mouth prevented her from screaming at the top of her lungs.

“Oh, goodie. You’re awake, my darling Clementine. Now the fun can begin.”

 

Christie turned her head in the direction of the deep voice she didn’t recognize. Whoever he was, he knew the nickname she went by in the BDSM club she frequented. That’s where she’d been last…wasn’t it? No…wait…the last thing she remembered was leaving her friends at a bar they’d gone to and going home. Her visit to Heat had been the night before. Or had more time passed since then? She had no clue.

 

Her naked body trembled as footsteps scraped across the floor, approaching her. The blindfold was yanked from her face and she blinked against the harsh overhead lightbulb. When her vision focused, she stared at the man standing over her with an evil grin on his face and a bullwhip in his hands. They were in a damp room with concrete walls covered in dirt and…oh God! Was that blood?

 

Fear, unlike anything she’d ever known, attacked every cell in her body. She finally recognized him. He was a Dom, but she’d never played with him before. He was into the stuff she had on her hard limit list, so she’d avoided him the few times he’d shown up at the club. So what was she doing with him now? She couldn’t remember when she’d seen him last…it had to be, at least, a few weeks.

 

Struggling to pull her arms and legs free, she tried to ask him what was going on as tears rolled down her temples. “Mmm-umm-mmmm?”

“What’s that?” He dramatically cupped his ear. “I couldn’t quite hear you. Oh, that’s right, you can’t exactly talk with the ball gag, now can you? Sorry, Clementine, but that stays in place for now. Don’t worry, though. When I return in a little while, I’ll remove it. After all, I want to hear you scream before you die.”

 

Do you recall how your interest in writing came about?

Writing for school always came easy to me, so I knew that I liked it. But writing a novel is very different so there was plenty I had to learn about style and stuff. I used to come home from work, first as a paramedic and then as a police officer, and tell my folks about stuff that happened. My dad was always telling me I should write a book about it, so that’s probably where the seeds were planted.

 

Do you do book tours/signings?

I haven’t started yet but I have one scheduled in Connecticut in June and another one in Charlotte NC, in October.

 

What would you like to say to your readers?

To my readers, I would just say I am so grateful for the fact that they enjoy my books and inspire me to continuing writing. If it wasn’t for them, I’m not sure if I would still be writing at all.

 

Do you have any advice for other authors?

Advice to other authors – Oh, there’s so much and I’m still learning. A few things though, are:

  1. Learn to take constructive criticism and use it to your advantage to make your book better. Listen when other authors give you advice because we’ve all been there.
  2. Check your ego at the door. Don’t respond to negative reviews unless you want your career to be over within 24 hours.
  3. Don’t give up!

 

Can you share with us the best way to reach you and where to find your books?

Facebook: www.facebook.com/SamanthaColeAuthor

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Samantha-A.-Cole/e/B00X53K3X8

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5580362.Samantha_Cole

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamanthaCole222

Website: https://samanthacoleauthor.wordpress.com

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/samanthacoleauthor/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/samanthacoleaut/
Thanks for doing the interview with me.

1 Comment

Filed under Published

One response to “Q & A with Samantha A. Cole

  1. Enjoyed your post. I love Samantha A. Cole’s writing. She does a fantastic job of balancing the romantic and suspense elements in her writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

