Q & A with D.R. Perry

D.R. Perry

 

What books have most influenced your life most and how?

Mostly fantasy. I have different influences for different types of work. With my current series, it’s a cross between Robert Aspirin’s Myth series and Harry Potter. As far as my life goes, it’s a toss-up between The Chronicles of Narnia and Robin McKinley’s work. Those books saved my life at different points for entirely different reasons.

 

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? And why?

I’d have loved to have talked with Madeline L’Engle about writing. All her work has such strong emotion and hope. I love that and aspire to it myself.

 

What are your current projects?

I’m elbows-deep in the Providence Paranormal College series. It’s ten books long and two are out already. Book three is done and I can’t wait to get on book four. Edits first for three, though. Four’s going to be campier than a boy scout retreat!

 

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I think I might have added something in about Henry’s mentor. That’ll come in time, but I love leaving little breadcrumbs.

 

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Once I realized books had authors, I wondered what it’d be like to be one. I read nearly all the time growing up, preferred that to going anywhere. Writing followed naturally. I never wrote anything novel length until I was an adult, though. Big girl work for big girl me!

 

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding blocks of time to write undisturbed. With a toddler in the house, it’s tough. I’m lucky to have a 24 hour Dunkin Donuts near my house. They even know what I order now!

 

Who designed your covers?

I picked the basic layout and elements, but my husband made them. He’s awesome with a side of awesomesauce!

 

What was your biggest inspiration and motivation for your writing?

My family. It looks little, but it’s enormously important to me. I want to be able to tell my daughter to follow her dreams and also be an example of how.

 

What do you consider your best accomplishment?

Making it this far. It’s been a long road and I have wandered. Some times were gold, even when they didn’t glitter. But I was never lost.

 

Do you do book tours and/or signings?

I did a release party online and I go to open mic nights in my local area. It’s so fun! I’m trying to go to some conventions for signings, starting with Templecon in Rhode Island. That’s in August. Here’s a link to the convention’s page: https://www.facebook.com/TempleCon/

 

If you were deserted on an island, which three people would you want to have with you? Why?

 

Criteria:

 

One fictional character from your book

Blaine Harcourt. We sure wouldn’t be trapped on an island for long. He’d just turn into a dragon and fly us back to the mainland. He’d also agree with me about not wanting to stay there. For him, too many artifacts to research. For me, too many books I wouldn’t be able to read or write.

 

One fictional character from any other book

Aslan. At least if he left me there, I’d know that meant I’m supposed to stay. And Narnian islands aren’t such terrible places.

 

One famous person that is not a family member or friend

Weird Al Yankovich. I’d never get bored on an island with him. Plus, people would actually look for him so

it’s more likely we’d be rescued. Hmm, I’m seeing a theme here of wanting to get away from the island.

Probably because I don’t like the beach.

 

What would you like to say to your readers?

Thank you so much! It’s so amazing to know you’re reading. You are the reasons I write.

 

Do you have any advice for other authors?

Just keep writing. Write something every day, even if it’s just a list of things you want to write about later. Writing exercises the mind; your imagination will only get stronger the more you use it.

 

Can you share with us the best way to reach you and where to find your books?

Blog: http://www.drperryauthor.com/news

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/drpperry/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8588997.D_R_Perry

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DRPerry22

Other: http://www.drperryauthor.com/

 

Thanks so much for the interview!

 

Thank you for taking time out your busy day to do this interview with me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

