Interview with Author Rose Withering

 

For the record, please state your name.

Rose Withering

 

What inspired you to become a writer?

When I was in seventh grade we had to write a short story for English, it could be about anything, so I wrote this daydream about my first crush, and before it was time to turn it in, my short story was 78 pages long. I got an F on it, but that story got passed around on the school bus, and people were begging me to let them read it, that’s when I knew I wanted to be a writer.

 

What are your hobbies?

Writing, dancing, singing. I fiddle with a guitar when I feel like it. I love to play board games and any tabletop games. I want to get into role playing either Dungeons and Dragons or Larping. I play World of Warcraft, or used to play. Now I play Never winter when I’m not writing. It’s not as fun as WoW but it’s what I have at the moment.  I love to host parties which is strange because I’m very shy, but I love making other people happy. I love music. We go to a local winery and listen to local musicians, we attend concerts when we can. We always have music playing. and of course I like to read. I’m currently reading a book called Uprooted. It’s a modern fantasy written like a Scandinavian folk tale.

 

What are you passionate about?

Besides writing, there’s music. Music is my first love. Before I wanted to be a writer I wanted to be a singer, and I was in a “Barn” band for a white back in my early adult years, but the band had a bad breakup and I never got back into it. Now It’s just a hobby. I’m a cowgirl at heart, I love horses and I love country music. I put a cowboy or a ranch or a small town in every story I write. I’m passionate about animals. We have two cats, and I always make sure to put a cat or a dog usually the main character always has both. A cat and a dog.

 

What social media do you use to contact with your fans?

Facebook and Twitter

 

What is your username on the different social media platforms?

Author Page and Twitter

 

What did you do before you became a published author?

I was a student.

 

Do you have another job other than writing?

Yes. I’m a dog walker/nanny

 

How long have you been writing for?

Since I was 12…22 years

 

What’s your writing style like?

Hmm….that’s always a stumper for me. I’m very dialogue oriented with strong detail….I should say strong minimal detail.

 

What’s your favorite genre to write/read in and why?

Fantasy. because I love fairy tales and magic.

 

What’s your least favorite genre to write/read in and why?

Horror because it terrifies me

 

Some writers have something playing in the background, do you and what?

Right now, I have the soundtrack to Fellowship of the Rings playing

 

If you could do it all over again, would you change anything about your books?

Yes. I wouldn’t publish till they were ready.

 

What’s the inspiration behind your books?

For the fantasy, it’s fairy tales and the world of play pretend my brother and I created as children. For women’s fiction it’s life, the joys and sorrows of life.

 

Is there anything you found particularly challenging about writing?

Hmm…I think the most challenging part is rewriting. Getting the story just right for your readers. Which is why, for a while, I didn’t bother with it. I thought this is a great story, and I’m going to hit publish.

 

Who are your cover designers?

For fantasy, it’s Angie Murdock and for women’s fiction, it’s Heidi Fitzpatrick….at least it will be, when the revised versions come out

 

What authors are your inspiration?

Danielle Steel for women’s fiction and Nora Roberts for both. Hans Christian Anderson, Brother’s Grimm, Marian Cockrell, Michael Ende,  C.S Lewis  and Tolkien for Fantasy.

 

What is your take on fanfiction?

I read it on occasion. I tried writing it once.

 

What advice would you give any newbie author or anyone that wants to pick up writing?

Just sit down and let the words flow, sign up for NaNoWriMo too; that’s a big one. Anyone can write a book, if they put in the effort, the sweat, blood and tears that it takes. Writing is easy, but just because you’re a writer doesn’t make you an author. Publishing that’s the hard part

 

Some fun questions now

What are your fondest childhood memories?

Playing pretend with my brother.

 

If you Don’t mind tell us a little about your personal life?

I had a rough early childhood. I was adopted at the age of 4 1/2. Had a challenging upbringing. At the age of sixteen I was sent to a girls’ group home. I had a difficult early adult life as well. I went through a lot of domestic violence, had a son when I was 24. Lost him a year later. Struggled to find myself, find my purpose in life. Then six years ago I took a chance and I met a man I had been communicating with online, on Valentine’s Day, and he turned out to be my saving grace. We have been together since, and he showed me a new world, a world I thought only existed in fiction. He taught me about unconditional love and that I was worth it. Six months ago he made me his wife, and I am living my dream. I’m still struggling with my career, but I’m living my dream, and I have the time now to focus on it and make it all that it can be.

Do you have any causes, charities, foundations that you are passionate about and donate to? if so why? how did you get involved??

Yes! RAINN is my number one charity. I give them a dollar for every women’s fiction book I sell. RAINN stands for Rape Abuse Incest National Network. I’m involved with them because I am a conqueror of abuse that involved all those things. They helped me through and now it’s my turn to repay them.

 

Do you have any pets?

Yes, I do. I have two rambunctious kitties. Athos is a six year old blue mackerel main coon and Achilles is a six year old American shorthair tuxedo.

 

What age were you when you were first kissed and who was your high School sweetheart?

16 and his name was Craig….he was my brother’s best friend.

 

What did you want to be when you were little?

A ballerina

 

What is your favorite color?

Blue

 

What is your favorite food/s?

Chocolate, red meat and potatoes, doesn’t matter how it’s prepared. I love red meat and potatoes and cheese

 

What are you afraid of?

Mountain lions, strange men, and loose dogs

 

How old were you when you first got drunk?

21

 

What was your first car?

I don’t drive and never had a car

 

Did you live in a house or apartment when you were a child?

A house; a two story, cookie cutter house in the suburbs of Sacramento.

 

What was your favorite TV show as a child?

Wishbone

 

What was your favorite book?

Shadow Castle

 

Who did you have a crush on when you were in school and how old were you?

Real person was a guy named Eddie. He’s the one I wrote the story about. I was eleven when I had my first crush on him.

 

For celebrity crush. My first one was Robert Sean Leonard because he looked like Eddie lol

or Eddie looked like him lol

 

Tell us a little about yourself. Perhaps something not many people know about? Can you share with us the best way to contact you and where to find your work? This is where you have the floor.

Well my legal name is Mary Arman. I’m the proud wife of Science fiction author Dan R. Arman. I don’t like talking in person and I’m very shy, but online I’m a chatter box. I’m planning along with my cover artist to make the very first full length novel coloring book by the end of the year, using my novel Thornburg’s Daughter. Best ways to contact me are through facebook, twitter, or email me at rosewithering@yahoo.com.

 

You can find my work on Amazon

 

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to do this interview with us!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

