Interview and Book Review for Veronica Thatcher

unnamed-3

IT’S LIVE!!!!!!

A Way Back Into Love, by author Veronica Thatcher!!

#veronicathatcher

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: February 15, 2017

ADD TO YOUR GR TBR: http://bit.ly/2iKlsaN

Grab it up today!!!

SYNOPSIS:
Nothing is perfect. Life is messy. Relationships are complex. Outcomes, uncertain. People, irrational. But love…well, that makes everything complicated. And when you are caught in a tangled web of secrets, lies, and complex affairs, someone is bound to get burned.
Emily Stevens is a spunky, spirited college girl whose life gets turned upside-down when she realizes she’s in love with her best friend of fifteen years, Derek Thorpe. As Emily prepares to confess her feelings to Derek, something happens one night which changes her life forever. Five years later, Emily finds herself in Boston, alone and heartbroken. Will she ever be able to forget the past? And what will she find when she returns home…to the man she left behind?

US Amazon UK Amazon

unnamed-4

Interview with Veronica Thatcher

 

For the record, please state your name.

My name is Veronica Thatcher.

 

What inspired you to become a writer?

I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. In my pre-teen and teen years, it was short stories, essays, journals and magazine articles. When I was in high school, I got pushed into the world of writing fanfiction by the popular medical drama, Grey’s Anatomy and its lead couple, Meredith and Derek. It snowballed from there.

 

What social media do you use to contact with your fans?

Facebook and Twitter.

 

What name do your readers know you by?

Veronica Thatcher

 

How long have you been writing for?

I’ve been writing since the third grade, in some way or another.

 

What’s your writing style like? I don’t have a fixed writing style?

I like to experiment with narratives, tense and POVs…

 

What’s your favorite genre to write/read in and why?

My favourite genre to write is romance. Love is a beautiful feeling, and it has always amazed me what the power of love can do. Favourite genre to read is a tie between romance and mystery/thriller.

 

What’s your least favorite genre to write/read in and why?

My least favourite genre to read and write in is action. That’s not because I don’t enjoy action. It’s my inadequacy in writing it that makes it my least favourite. Also, I kinda don’t like all action and no play (laughs)

 

Some writers have something playing in the background, do you and what?

Yes, any song that fits the current scene of my book. Inspires me.

 

What’s the inspiration behind your books?

Tough to pinpoint one thing. I try to draw from my personal experiences, as well as use my imagination to create something totally unique. I feel that I have a story to tell, and that’s the main inspiration behind my books.

 

If you could do it all over again, would you change anything about your books?

No, not a thing. What I wrote made me the person who I am today. I’ve learnt a lot from my past mistakes.

 

Is there anything you found particularly challenging about writing?

Dialogue. I’m a very taciturn person in real life and I’m horrible at coming up with conversation topics. That reflects in my writing as well and I’m still struggling to change that.

 

Who are your cover designers?

Notion Press.

 

What books/authors have influenced your writing?

Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne, the Harry Potter series by Jo Rowling, Love Story by Erich Segal, Revolution 2020 by Chetan Bhagat, Deb Rotuno and Jenny Rarden’s writing.

 

What is your take on fanfiction?

It’s a wonderful sphere. Some people look down on it, but for me, it’s where I started. It gives you the power to change things up in your own way. And that’s pure creativity at its best.

 

What advice would you give any newbie author or anyone that wants to pick up writing?

Write what you want to write, even if it’s cliche. Cliches became cliches for a reason. Don’t write what you think readers want to read. And write with a lot of love and passion. If you do that, readers will enjoy your work.

 

Tell us a little about yourself. Perhaps something not many people know about? Can you share with us the best way to contact you and where to find your work? This is where you have the floor.

I’m from Sheffield, Yorkshire, now happily settled in New Jersey. I moved to the States after high school. I’m in pre-med in college, and if I can’t crack the MCATs, I want to pursue a degree in Creative Writing. I can be arrogant and self-centred sometimes. I’m deeply flawed. Far from a perfect person. But I pride myself on being tenacious and committed. I’m a huge introvert and a nerd. And I may be soft-spoken, which leads to others taking undue advantage of me, but when I get mad, I take no nonsense. I have zero tolerance for crap. I’m also very hot-headed, which is one of my best and worst qualities.

The best way to contact me is via Facebook and you can find my work on Amazon.

Amazon Facebook

16804112_215507078853678_1180238177607350685_o

Review of A Way Back Into Love by Veronica Thatcher

 

I wrote this review while reading A Way Back Into Love so please bare with my jumpiness!

 

Reading A Way Back Into Love reminded me of all those years ago when I was in high school. I had a Derek. He was my best friend and the guy I wanted to be with and spend the rest of my life with. But we drifted apart. I’m happy with my life now but on occasion my mind always wanders to the past and the days of high school and I think ‘What might have been?’

 

The pain of losing a best friend the way Emily lost Derek is one of the worst. It feels like your heart being ripped from your chest each time you see him with your sister or supposed best girl friend.

 

In A Way Back Into Love you can feel the emotions that the characters are feeling no matter what they are. Especially, the pain and heartache our main male and female characters feel.

 

Emma has always been a bitch but damn she is a monstrous bitch, especially towards her sister Emily.

 

Wow! I was waiting for that kiss to happen! Glad it did but sad it happened when it did!

 

I love the banter between Derek and Emily; they’re hilarious but cute!

 

Emily can be such a baby! Who doesn’t love fishing?!

 

A jealous Derek is a hilarious Derek!!!!

 

Emma is a conniving witch with a capital B! She did something so heinous to Derek but kept it a secret until he broke off their engagement, who does that crap!!! She accused him of cheating on her with Emily when he didn’t but she did something way worse! Dumb bitch!

 

I knew that would happen, they were meant to be!

 

What a lovely ending to a wonderful book!!! But I didn’t want it to end!!! I want more dammit!

 

Veronica Thatcher is a lovely author who moves you with her words! Go check A Way Back Into Love, you won’t regret it!!!

 

15894401_202600480144338_2048837033734320100_n.jpg

 

~Maggie

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

