Rae Cupcakeriot Interview

Cupcakeriot

 

For the record, please state your name.

My birth certificate says Rachel and I go by Rae most often, but everyone really knows me by cupcakeriot.

 

What inspired you to become a writer?

A lot of things, which I think is true for most writers. Nobody just wakes up one day and thinks, “Today seems like a good day to start telling stories.” For me, I’d always been an avid reader – still am – and I had two really great English teachers that left quite the impression – enough that I was carrying around dozens of notebooks in middle school and high school. And then I mustered up some courage and just did it. But it’s a personal journey, you know, and it never ends.

 

What are your hobbies?

Coffee, crocheting while I watch what is arguably too much TV, and reading (as you might imagine).

 

What are you passionate about?

Lots of things. I’ve got a really intense interest in politics, so with that I have some definite opinions – but any day, any time, my biggest passion is the fight for equality…all equality, from gender to sexual orientation to race to religion. We’re all born equal and that’s exactly how we should be treated. A close second is women’s issues and mental health awareness, both of which are issues close to my heart.

 

What interests are you into?

I like to say that I have three loves: psychology, philosophy, and politics. But I’m also a huge news junkie, an incredible nerd, and I’ve yet to shake my obsession with music or books.

 

What social media do you use to contact with your fans?

Facebook – and that’s mostly because Twitter terrifies me and I’m too lazy to keep up with anything else!

 

What is your username on the different social media platforms? (do you want this information to be published)

Publish it! Rae Cupcakeriot Kings on Facebook.

 

What did you do before you became a published author?

Student. Actually, that’s still true – I’ll have my Masters in psychology in April 2018.

 

Do you have another job other than writing?

Caregiver for my ailing mother, which means I get to work from home and feed my insomnia. And it’s more stressful than I ever thought it would be, but I’m glad that I have this time to spend with her.

 

How long have you been writing for?

Counting when I was still scribbling in notebooks? Ten years – I was thirteen when I first got the idea for Blood, actually, and I first posted online at 15-16.

 

What’s your writing style like?

Gosh, you know, I really don’t know how to describe it. I try to keep it thoughtful and realistic. You don’t find a lot of unnecessary drama or angst in my writing, probably because I’m just not wired that way. It’s a lot of exposition, most recently and most comfortably in third person narrative, but I’m still tailoring – trying to incorporate improvements. If I’m being honest, I probably use too many compound and complex sentences, but it’s the style that feels the most natural.

 

What’s your favorite genre to write/read in and why?

I have three that I consider my wheelhouse – fantasy, science-fiction, and supernatural. Of course, I always try to incorporate sub-genres into this mainstream, but these are the genres that I grew up on, the ones I connect most easily to, and the ones that suit the sweeping plots that I tend to gravitate toward.

 

What’s your least favorite genre to write/read in and why?

This is a harder question than I thought it would be! If pressed, I suppose my least favorite to write is humor – this is a genre that certainly doesn’t come easy to me and if there is anything funny in any story I write, it’s probably in the form of sarcasm or irony – and my least favorite to read is drama, but that’s not saying much because I’ll still read it.

 

Some writers have something playing in the background, do you and what?

Silence is best for me, but usually I’ve got the news on.

 

What’s the inspiration behind your books?

It depends. Sometimes, I’ll find a quote that really hooks me; other times, it will be a song that starts turning my gears.

 

If you could do it all over again, would you change anything about your books?

In my earlier work, I was still getting the hang of how to tell a story – and while I know people enjoyed the things I wrote between ages 15 and 18, I feel like my ability to write the falling action after the climax was seriously inadequate. But that’s a skill that comes with time and I’m not afraid to say that I’m still learning. There’s always something to improve on.

 

Is there anything you found particularly challenging about writing?

Dialogue. Is that odd? I suppose the issue is that I’m to a big talker and that I have the Ghost of Teachers Past whispering in my ear that dialogue needs to have a purpose – it has to move the plot or define the character or express emotion. It can’t just be there to be there. I’m great at one-liners, but bigger bits of dialogue make me twitch.

 

Who are your cover designers?

Sometimes me, sometimes friends of mine, sometimes people who contact me and ask to make banners.

 

What authors are your inspiration?

I’ll never get over my obsession with L.J. Smith or J. K Rowling or Stephen King or Andrew Clements or Tolkien. But I also think that writers need to be well-read to cultivate the talent, so I try to grab inspiration from everywhere, from the classics and cult fiction and even trashy romances. And Walt Whitman, of course.

 

What is your take on fanfiction?

Love it. It would be a bit hypocritical for me to say otherwise, wouldn’t it? I think it’s a wonderful avenue of expression – and I’m not ashamed to say that a good deal of my reading is fanfiction, so long as it’s well-written.

 

What advice would you give any newbie author or anyone that wants to pick up writing?

Look – writing is hard. You’re going to struggle. You’re going to suck at first. That’s fine. The important part is to just keep doing it. Keep writing. Keep reading. Keep improving. Try new genres; try different styles; try different words. Challenge yourself and write something that means something to you.

 

What are your fondest childhood memories?

My pseudo-aunt indoctrinated me into a pretty solid appreciation of art and museums; my pseudo-uncle gave me a passion for foreign movies and animes and science; and my mother never let me believe that I couldn’t do whatever it is I set out to accomplish.

 

If you don’t mind tell us a little about your personal life?

Well, I’m turning 23 in a few weeks and my entire life has consisted of either taking care of the people around me or academia. I’m a pretty old soul, but I’m not sure if that’s just the way I am or if it’s the way I’ve had to become just to do what needs to be done. Mature is how most people have described me; boring is how I would describe myself. And I’ve struggled with chronic depression since I was a kid – in all honesty, reading probably saved my life.

 

Do you have any causes, charities, foundations that you are passionate about and donate to? If so why? How did you get involved?

I do my due diligence to the National Alliance of Mental Illness, especially during the Mental Health Month in May. I’ve pledged to be #stigmafree and I hope others do the same. The reasons why are complicated, but mostly it’s because of my own struggles with mental illness, the struggles of those around me, and because my education practically demands I be involved.

 

Do you have any pets?

I do! Cadence, who is a 9 year old Shetland Sheepdog, and an absolute pain in my ass. She’s awesome. Crazy, but completely adorable…when she isn’t intentionally tripping me or barking directly in my face to wake me up.

 

Some fun questions now

 

What age were you when you were first kissed?

For girls, I was 14 – my best friend’s cousin, Cara – and for boys, I was 15, my friend Tyler.

 

Who was your high school sweetheart?

None. I didn’t really date, those two kisses notwithstanding. Didn’t have the time. Still don’t.

 

What did you want to be when you were little?

I’m not sure, actually. Probably a teacher at some point, but I know that I’m not patient enough for it.

 

What is your favourite colour?

Dove grey.

 

What is your favourite food/s?

Sushi! But all Asian food, really. I’d eat it all day everyday if I could.

 

What are you afraid of?

I have a phobia of spiders. It’s not a secret. Anytime I see one, I’m sure my neighbors think that I’ve come across an axe-murderer.

 

How old were you when you first got drunk?

21, because my mother used to be a paralegal and I have respect for the law. But I don’t really drink all that much. Maybe wine on a special occasion.

 

Did you live in a house or apartment when you were a child?

Apartments.

 

What was your favourite TV show as a child?

Sailor Moon and Scooby Doo. Is that a weird combination?

 

What was your favorite book?

I can’t choose – there are too many that are so great. But I will say that The Diary of Anne Frank changed my life.

 

Who did you have a crush on when you were in school and how old were you?

My brother’s best friend, Russell – I still have a crush on him. I first realized my crush when I was, like, seven. The only problem is that he’s 8 years older! (My crushing on older gents really hasn’t changed though!)

 

Tell us a little about yourself. Perhaps something not many people know about?

Most people probably don’t know that I have a shameful obsession with horoscopes – I don’t believe them, because that would be illogical, but I also can’t stop myself from reading them and I’m always catching myself  thinking, oh, I’m such a Taurus or I bet you’re a Pieces!

Facebook is probably the best way to contact me. I have a novelette on Amazon called Samhain:

Fan Fiction

Facebook Page

Cupcakeriot Facebook Group

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017DTRH88

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

