Interview with Elizabeth Lee

For the record, please state your name.

Elizabeth Joe Lee, Lizzie for short.

What inspired you to become a writer?

I am an avid reader and have been since I was very young. I fell in love with literature in my teens and became quite the bookworm. I would read everything I could get my hands on, Jane Austen especially. I always dreamed of writing and knew that if I could do anything in the world I would want to write. It wasn’t until I was badly injured last year, that I had the courage to give writing a try, and I am so glad I did.

What are your hobbies?

I love to draw; I spend all my free time creating artwork. I love working with graphite and color pencils. Another hobby I have is collecting books. I have so many books, first editions, collectables, and nostalgia. I have so many books, more than I could ever read, but I can’t help but keep adding to my collection.

What are you passionate about?

I’m passionate about so many things. But as of right now, my main focuses have been art, writing, and furthering my education. I’m also a giant nerd, which surprises a lot of people when they first meet me. I love Star Wars especially and The Walking Dead. When I’m not hoarding books, I’m hoarding Stars Wars and The Walking Dead comics.

 

What interests are you into?

This is probably redundant, but buying, collecting, and talking about books. I also have become really interested in history, so much so, I feel it would make a wonderful major in college.

 

What social media do you use to contact with your fans?

Facebook, it’s so cool to be able to talk to everyone on Facebook messenger

.What is your username on the different social media platforms? (do you want this information to be published)

Lizzie Lee on Facebook, and highlanderprincess on Fanfiction, Archive of Our Own, and Stars Library.

 

what did you do before you became a published author?

Well, I’m unfortunately not a published author yet, but fingers crossed, because it is my dream to be a romance novelist. Right now I am a student, studying English Literature.

do you have another job other than writing?

Yes, I work at my local bookstore. I can’t help myself; I love books so much I love to surround myself with them at work and at home.

How long have you been writing for?

As an English major, I write papers constantly. But, writing creatively…only six months. Which, I know, is definitely not long at all, but I do write for hours a day to make up for it! A lot of people are shocked when they find I haven’t even been writing for a year, but if all goes well, I’ll be writing for the rest of my life.

What’s your writing style like?

God, I don’t really know how to describe it. I’m most comfortable in first person, which is something I never thought I would say for some reason. When I first started writing, I wrote a few short horror stories, all of which were in third person, and I was afraid to try anything else. But, a lot of my favorite books are in first person, so I decided to give it a shot. I love it because details can become so incredibly vivid and we can really understand the root of a character. I also love to have a lot of descriptions in my writing. Especially in my new story Chicago, because it is set in the 1950s which is a totally different world to the one we now live in. I want readers to feel as if they are being transported into another life. I don’t know if I always accomplish this, but I certainly try.

What’s your favorite genre to write/read in and why?

My favorite genre to write is contemporary and historical romance. That’s definitely the direction I would like to go in my writing career. But, my favorite genre to read is horror and fiction. But I can definitely pick up a good romance novel every now and again. My favorite author is Stephen King, ever since fifth grade.

What’s your least favorite genre to write/read in and why?

Science fiction is my least favorite to write, mainly because I know nothing about it. But, to be honest, I love reading all genres. It’s always fun to read something out of the norm. Since I started working at a bookstore, I love to read at least one book from every genre so I can recommend something when someone asks.

Some writers have something playing in the background, do you and what?

Sometimes if I really want to focus, I listen to classical piano music. But, most of the time, I listen to LPs on my turn table. I have it set up right by the computer so I can play records as I write. I love The Velvet Underground, The Modern Lovers, The Kinks, INXS, Grateful Dead, The Band, The Beatles, The Animals, Simon & Garfunkel, The Mamas & The Papas, Van Morrison, Fleetwood Mac, Cream, Jimi Hendrix, The Doors, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, The Shins, Iron and Wine, Death Cab for Cutie, Rilo Kiley/Jenny Lewis, The Cure, and Joy Division. I am very passionate about music, so this list could be a lot longer, but I thought it best that I didn’t write several pages about bands I love. But in general, I listen to classic rock, indie rock, ska punk, and emo rock from my days as an “edgy” teen.

What’s the inspiration behind your books?

It really depends, a lot of times I am inspired by music.

If you could do it all over again, would you change anything about your books?

I haven’t been published, yet, but so far a lot of things I would like to change are mainly grammatical errors. They can be embarrassing at times, and I am hoping that my editing class I am currently taking will help me with this problem. But right now, I am still getting in the hang of storytelling in general.

Is there anything you found particularly challenging about writing?

Sometimes I will think of a great idea when it is far too late in the story. Planning every aspect ahead is something that is really challenging for me. I am definitely improving with the kind help from others, but even now I struggle with every step I want to take in my story.

Who are your cover designers?

Amazing people I have met online who know something about computers and photo shop, two things, in which I know nothing about.

what authors are your inspiration?

Jane Austen, the Bronte sisters, Stephen King, and Diana Gabaldon, I am in love with their works. They put so much effort into every detail and reading their stories is a visceral experience. I feel as if I have fallen into the book. I would love to come, even the littlest bit, close to their incredible talent.

What is your take on fanfiction?

Well, I love it. It is such an incredible outlet for writers. You can learn so much from publishing your work there. It’s amazing to get advice from others and it really helps improve your writing. Also, it helps to inspire me to finish my works. When you have readers who love the story, you never want to give up.

What advice would you give any newbie author or anyone that wants to pick up writing?

I still consider myself a newbie writer for sure, but I would definitely say never give up. You never know where you will be in a year, five years, or even ten years’ time. Things will be hard, but learning anything will be difficult. Being an artist as well, I look back on what I did when I first started and laugh. I remember thinking what I was doing was so incredible, but now that I look at it…it sucked. But that’s okay! Because I kept with it and now I can compare my beginnings to where I am now.

What are your fondest childhood memories?

Picking peaches in Texas, I always loved that. I am from Austin Texas, and I miss it all of the time.

If you Don’t mind tell us a little about your personal life?

Well, I’m twenty-two years old and I am a college student. Lately I have been so focused on following what I am passionate about; I haven’t been doing much else. But, hey, it’s a wonderful hobby. I am an old soul, or that is what many people tell me. I am really clumsy, so much so, I hurt myself so badly last year I needed multiple surgeries and couldn’t walk on my own for eight months. I love arts and crafts, and have craft and wine and canvas nights with my best friends. I date around, but I am not interested in anything serious because I like to focus on myself. The two people I am probably closest with, besides my best friend, are definitely my mom and nana.

Do you have any causes, charities, foundations that you are passionate about and donate to? if so why? how did you get involved??

I do service in my community, but one foundation I really love is Reach Out and Read, which promotes literacy. Two more I really love are Worldreader and LitWorld. I just think books and literacy are so incredibly important.

Do you have any pets?

Unfortunately no, I work too much and wouldn’t be able to care for them. But if I could have any pet, I would love a black pug. I am obsessed with pugs. They have the cutest little faces and they just want to be loved!

Some fun questions now

what age were you when you were first kissed?

I was first kissed when I was eighteen, with my first long term boyfriend.

who was your high School sweetheart?

A man I worked with when I was in high school. I was eighteen when we first started dating and he was twenty-four. We dated for two and a half years and I broke up with him.

what did you want to be when you were little?

I actually wanted to be a writer when I was little! Well, that and a pop star, expect I am completely tone-deaf.

what is your favourite colour??

Green, every type of green.

what is your favourite food/s?

I love Mexican food so much. My best friend and I get Mexican food once a week. It is sad because the entire staff knows me and what I order. I feel like Sandra Bullock on Two Weeks’ Notice.

what are you afraid of?

This is really embarrassing, but for some reason I’m afraid of their being someone in my closet. I check my closet every night before I go to bed like a child would do. I have no idea why. I feel like the one time I wouldn’t check, someone would be in there! That is so lame to admit, but it is definitely true.

how old were you when you first got drunk?

22 years old, so this year! I am not big into drinking, mainly because I don’t like feeling ill.

What was your first car?

2013 Honda Civic

did you live in a house or apartment when you were a child?

Apartments for a while until my parents finally purchased a house.

what was your favourite tv show as a child?

Sabrina the Teenage Witch and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

What was your favorite book?

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. That was, and probably will forever be, my favorite book.

who did you have a crush on when you were in school and how old were you?

Older men for some reason…teachers mainly. I’m sure that is clear in my writing, so it’s sad to say that not much has changed.

Tell us a little about yourself. Perhaps something not many people know about? Can you share with us the best way to contact you and where to find your work? This is where you have the floor.

Something about me people do not know…I am obsessed with Disney movies and sing along to them. I know every word of every princess movie. It is a very specific skill set, I know. I do Disney Trivia nights at bars and completely destroy everyone with my Disney Princess movie knowledge.

The best way to contact me is definitely my Facebook! I think I’m pretty good at getting back to everyone’s messages and I love hearing from people.

Facebook Page

Fanfiction Page

Blog Author’s note

Lizzie is a newbie author to the Twilight Fandom and in the few short months she has been witting this author follows and wait eagerly each week for updates on 3 of her stories. Check out Chicago if you like a Mafiaward with a bit of a difference. Each one of Lizzie’s stories is unquiet in their own right and deserve attention like all our fandom authors.

This blog is happy to support and encourage new authors whether it is fandom or published

Bronwyn

 

Interview pic

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Published

Leave a Reply

