INTERVIEW WITH HUGO DRISCOLL AUTHOR OF 7 DAYS WITH YOU

 For the record, please state your name.

Hugo Driscoll

What inspired you to become a writer?

I’ve always been in love with storytelling and the written word, though I initially wanted to be a journalist. In fact, it was only in my early 20s that I started dabbling with fiction, and I’ve been in love with it ever since.

What are your hobbies?

Aside from reading and writing, I make sure sports are a big part of my life. I’m a naturally competitive person, and I find the best way to help release my competitive edge is by playing soccer or tennis. I also try and go to the gym at least three times a week.

What are you passionate about?

My first passion will always be writing. When I think of something, I have to get it down. Sometimes it’s one sentence, and other times it’s a thousand words. I feel privileged that I’ve found my calling in life.

What social media do you use to contact with your fans? Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter

I’m an avid Twitter user. I think it’s one of the best things to come from the Internet. I also use Facebook, though am not as prolific on it.

What is your username on the different social media platforms? (do you want this information to be published)

Twitter: @hugosa

Facebook.com/hugodriscollauthor

what did you do before you became a published author?

What I still do now: Working as a content writer for a viral media company. If you need advice on skinny jeans or what cat cafes in obscure parts of Japan to go to, I’m your man.

How long have you been writing for?

Four years

What’s your writing style like?

I use a lot of short sentences and very few adverbs as I want people to feel they can turn the pages with ease.

What’s your favorite genre to write/read in and why?

I’d have to say YA.

Some writers have something playing in the background, do you and what?

I tend to frequent coffee shops when I write as I find the chitter-chatter oddly calming. I’ve tried writing in silence, and while I can do it, I much prefer a nice coffee shop.

What’s the inspiration behind your books?

My main inspiration comes from experiences, mainly in the form of heartbreak. I think that’s one of the positive things to come from failed romances- at least for writers. You may have lost love, but you’ve probably gained a book!

If you could do it all over again, would you change anything about your books?

Maybe I could have approached my first book with a bit more know-how, but writing is a craft you learn on the job as much as in the classroom.

Is there anything you found particularly challenging about writing?

There are many things. If you want to write an average piece then, of course, you can just type your way to the finish line.  But if you want to write something good, you have to give it your all, especially during the editing process. It might take 10-15 drafts before it’s anywhere near ready for publication, and that to me is always hard as it involves deleting and re-writing a lot of paragraphs you might think read well but in reality, are a pile of tosh!

what authors are your inspiration?

I’d say American authors like Bukowski and Hemmingway certainly played a role in making me want to pursue a career in fiction. I just love their sentence structures and simple yet moving dialogue. I always found that writing more appealing than superfluous descriptions of windows.

What is your take on fanfiction?

I think it’s great. I’m not personally a reader of the stuff, but I think it’s an excellent way to get novice writers inspired. Just look at the impact Twilight fan fiction had on the Fifty Shades of Grey author, E.L. James!

What advice would you give any newbie author or anyone that wants to pick up writing?

Write, write, write and then write some more! It’s an artform that requires an incredible amount of practice and self-discipline. You can take all the classes you want, but if you don’t write anything when it’s just you and the keyboard, you won’t improve. So many people want to write, but few follow through with that want. You have to bleed for your craft if you really want to write something good.

And, of course, it almost goes without saying that you should read a broad range of authors. Read anything you can get your hands on. The more you read, the more aware you become of what constitutes good writing and what doesn’t.

 

What are your fondest childhood memories?

Playing soccer and tennis in the summer vacation with friends. We lived for those sports, and we’d often end up home well past 10 before slumping in front of the television giddy in the knowledge that our lives were free from early mornings.

If you Don’t mind, tell us a little about your personal life?

My personal life usually involves going to a bar or restaurant with friends at least once every two weeks. I’m young and single, so I go out more than friends in relationships, but as I writer, my weekends can sometimes consist of nothing but writing in cafés and going to the gym, but I’m totally okay with that.

Do you have any causes, charities, foundations that you are passionate about and donate to? if so why? how did you get involved??

I don’t have any foundations, but I try to donate to child and animal charities as much as I can. Even if it’s only a small amount, a little goes a long way.

Do you have any pets?

I have a fat cat called Molly. She’s the best!

Some fun questions now

 

what age were you when you were first kissed?

16

who was your high School sweetheart?

A stereotypical cheerleader with blonde hair and blue eyes called Sophie.

what did you want to be when you were little?

A soccer player

what is your favourite colour??

Navy blue. I think 90% of my wardrobe is navy.

what is your favourite food/s?

That’s a good question! It would have to be a toss-up between Italian and Thai!

what are you afraid of?

Failure

how old were you when you first got drunk?

18

What was your first car?

I haven’t even had a driving lesson! Living in London does that to you!

did you live in a house or apartment when you were a child?

A house

what was your favourite tv show as a child?

South Park

What was your favorite book?

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time

who did you have a crush on when you were in school and how old were you?

My first crush occurred around 11 and she was also my best friend! We’re still great friends now funnily enough, despite her letting me down gently by telling me she saw me more as a brother!

Tell us about your Book/S?

Seven Days with You is a coming-of-age love story that anyone who has ever been young and in love will relate to.

Admittedly, it’s also a story that I suppose reviewers might call a tearjerker, but I like to see it as one that proves love is the most important emotion anyone can have in a world that can often be unforgiving.

Tell us a little about yourself. Perhaps something not many people know about? Can you share with us the best way to contact you and where to find your work? This is where you have the floor.

I’d like to think I’m quite a relatable guy and someone who comes across as friendly and empathetic, despite the craft of writing requiring a ton of sacrifice and commitment. But if you want to dig around and form a more rounded opinion you can check out my website: hugodriscoll.com. I also have author pages on Goodreads and Amazon. Fan interaction is incredibly important to me, so any questions are always welcomed. 😊

BOOK TOUR: 7 DAYS WITH YOU

1 Comment

Filed under Published

One response to “INTERVIEW WITH HUGO DRISCOLL AUTHOR OF 7 DAYS WITH YOU

  1. Thank you for posting

    Like

Leave a Reply

